Games I Like – Infinity – WIP shot of my Bandua buildings

Zac had asked how the Krylon sprays would look doing scenery so I thought I’d post a WIP shot. Four spray paints were used;

– Krylon Black Paint / Primer in One
– Krylon Flat chocolate brown
– Krylon Flat Grey
– Krylon Flat White

They have other names which I can look upon request. 🙂

Basica method is to prime black, spray brown angled bottom to top to get dirt markings and patchily around the building for an undercoat of grime. Then dust at about 12″ with Grey, top-down. Angle the spray so as not to fill in the black on the etched details. Final spray of white is also at an angle, 12″ away and following the edges from the top down. This gives the look of old white concrete, with the grime washed down by rain.

I then masked off and sprayed or painted some colour sections and used grey (Citadel Dawnstone) to hand paint some weathering. Probably about 30 minutes work all told.

Here’s the result.

Three 'Q' buildings stacked, small medium and large. They nest for storage.

Three ‘Q’ buildings stacked, small medium and large. They nest for storage.

I’ve got two large ‘Q’ buildings, four medium and two small… plus some MDF scatter terrain. This, combined with the scads of old Infinity terrain I made back in 2009, give me plenty to play on going forward. 🙂

More pictures when they’re all done. They need some graffiti decals and other small details, but I need to unpack my airbrush for those. 🙂

~ by Achilles on June 12, 2014.

5 Responses to “Games I Like – Infinity – WIP shot of my Bandua buildings”

  1. Wow. I’m sold.

    • Not bad, right? I’ve gotten really good at using Spray Paints in creative ways as a cheap and effective basecoating system for terrain. It’s not as easy or finely detailed as my airbrush… but the paint is extremely durable (a big plus for scenery) and with brands like Krylon very economical too. 🙂

      Caveat emptor tho… you should practice practice practice before doing it on the models you paid good money for. 🙂

  2. Man, you make me jealous and want to try and bust stuff up for myself and my Heavy Gear stuff… but all the stuff I’ve got just might not look as good. All in all I look forward to what else you have in store for us!

    • Realize by ‘stuff’, I mean total odds and ends I decided I might use for cover/concealment/buildings, and have laying round the apartment haphazardly.

      • I find painting is good meditation. I’ve got a couple of my Yu Jing figs finished this week. I will try to dig out my lightbox and get some pictures up! Then it’s scatter terrain time. 🙂

Leave a comment

 
Guerrilla Miniature Games

Out of the Basement and into the Streets.

Metal Miniatures

pics of little metal men

Dagger and Brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fighting Fantasy Project

Can YOU survive?

davidneat

a maker, a teacher of making

Miniature armies, huge time sink.

But time you enjoy wasting, is not wasted time...

goochman70

Just another WordPress.com site

Tales From The Lead Pile

the strange wargaming world of Diakon

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Astronomi-con

Forging the narrative since 2001

Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

sho3box

Toy soldier wargaming stuff.

10-4 Miniatures

Miniatures, etc.

Perpetual Motion Canadian

I know not all that is coming, but be it what it will, I'll go to it laughing.

Generic Gaming Goodness

One of the many, many blogs of the Ivory Goat Gaming Group

Steam and Shields

A Steampunk/Fantasy Gaming Blog

Tales of Gamers

The random thoughts of a group of tabletop gaming enthusiasts.