Games I Like – Warhammer 40,000 – Built a new Wolf Lord

Well, I confess I haven’t played Warhammer 40,000 much lately. I played a total of eleven games of it in 2014. 5 at Astronomi-Con with the 5th Ed Codex. 6 at MiniWarGaming as part of my interview process.

Since then both the Codexes I’d been playing with recently have been updated (Space Wolves and Necrons). As part of my ‘play more games and paint through my backlog’ resolution for 2015 I’m updating my Space Wolves for the new Codex (my Necrons will get looked at after this).

I’ve a metric ton of unbuilt Space Wolf stuff and bitz lying about. I can likely build just about anything I need for the army so I started with research.

The big change effecting my army was that I needed a new HQ. My Space Wolves were built as a 30k/1st War for Armageddon project and are led by my converted ‘Young Logan Grimnar’ mini. With Logan now a Lord of War choice I found my army without an HQ to lead it.

I plan to stick to either the ‘Wolves Unleashed’ or Combined Arms’ Force Organization. Champions of Fenris is cool, but I basically already have that and as this army will be mildly competitive I’m going to focus on the more versatile in scenario Force Orgs.

So polling folks on Facebook and tinkering with ArmyBuilder I came up with the following HQ. It should compliment my Thunderwolf Cavalry nicely and I already had a broken Harald Deathwolf (I never liked the mini much) in a bitz box that I needed something to do with.

Wolf LordRunic Armour, Fangsword, Stormshield, Digital Weapons, Meltabombs, Thunderwolf Mount

Based with slate, Apoxysculpt, grey artists pumice paint.  Bitsz from the Wolf Guard and Space Wolf boxed sets and Harald DeathWolf.

Based with slate, Apoxysculpt, grey artists pumice paint.
Bitsz from the Wolf Guard and Space Wolf boxed sets and Harald DeathWolf.

Ah the bitz box dive. The model always looks such a mess when you put it together.

Mechanicus Standard grey with a wash of water, Lahmian Medium and Dryad Bark. Wolf basecoated with old citadel Charadon Granite.

Mechanicus Standard grey with a wash of water, Lahmian Medium and Dryad Bark. Wolf basecoated with old citadel Charadon Granite.

I painted the two separately to keep from splashing paint around. My Space Wolves are a gaming army, not a display army, so a couple hours later here are the results! All photos shot with my iPhone 5s, so forgive the hard contrast on the whites. 🙂

Here is Jarl Halvor Starkiller. His battle-name was gifted to him by his old liege when he was a Wolf Guard, the old-wolf claiming that the charge of he and his pack-brothers would fill the sky with so much snow that it would blot out the stars themselves on a clear night.

Jarl Halvor StarkillerJarl Halvor Starkiller

Jarl Halvor Starkiller

Jarl Halvor Starkiller

Jarl Halvor Starkiller

Jarl Halvor Starkiller

Jarl Halvor Starkiller

~ by Achilles on February 22, 2015.

4 Responses to “Games I Like – Warhammer 40,000 – Built a new Wolf Lord”

  1. awesome work! I was thinking for a while about buying some Space Wolves after release of 9th edition codex. I chose Blood Angels eventually, but probably SV will be my next Space Marines chapter. anyway, keep up the good work!

    • Thanks man! I’ve got a huge unbuilt Blood Angel army that I need to get to. I’m thinking it may be one of my 30k Armies. I just need a ton of 32mm bases now as I want all my new armies going forward to be on the bigger bases!

  2. Nice. Always likes the Grey look of old School space wolves more then the ugly blue one they got now.

Leave a Reply

 
Metal Miniatures

pics of little metal men

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fighting Fantasy Project

Can YOU survive?

davidneat

a maker, a teacher of making

Miniature armies, huge time sink.

But time you enjoy wasting, is not wasted time...

goochman70

Just another WordPress.com site

Tales From The Lead Pile

the strange wargaming world of Diakon

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Astronomi-con

Forging the narrative since 2001

Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

sho3box

Toy soldier stuff.

10-4 Miniatures

Miniatures, etc.

WildNinjaMole

My random thoughts on everything

Obi's gaming and painting

Tabletop and more

Perpetual Motion Canadian

I know not all that is coming, but be it what it will, I'll go to it laughing.

Generic Gaming Goodness

One of the many, many blogs of the Ivory Goat Gaming Group

