Hobby Resolutions – 2014 – The year of the prolific painter

So another year has gone by. I was a big year for me. We moved house, had a baby and I had a fairly major job change.

Along the way I found myself in a pretty common midlife position. Life boiled down to some pretty defined priorities for me which a friend of mine once summed up nicely;

“You will find your life neatly organized. Baby first. Her second. You never.”

It’s pretty accurate, and not nearly as negative as it sounds. Your day is consumed quite efficiently. Work, make dinner, feedings, sleep, feedings, sleep, five minutes of sleep, gym, work, repeat.

And that’s just when my wife was pregnant!

So suffice it to say all of my hobby aspirations went out the window in 2013 in a wonderful tornado of grown up moments.

So what does that mean in 2014?

Well honestly, I likely could have finished more in 2013. The truth is that big, life changing events feel bigger and more life changing when they are happening. It’s easy to stare at a wall in your free time when you believe you have shellshock. After a while though you realize that you CAN do the things you used to do. You just have to fit them around all of your new duties.

So over the holidays I began painting again. In fact, I painted these two zombies!

20140108-084738.jpg

20140108-084852.jpg

I discovered I could paint in bursts. I could start painting and actually STOP for a bit… and go back. My painting habits could change. I likely won’t ever sit and paint for six hours at a time any more. No marathons completing whole armies in a weekend. But I CAN still paint some models. I just needed to adapt to my new circumstances.

So with that in mind here are my painting resolutions for 2014;

– Paint at least one model per week that I owned at the start of 2014 I spent some time organizing my models over my vacation. If you’ve done this before and own a lot of unpainted figures you will know the experience I’m talking about; “Oooh. I forgot I had that!”

– Play at least one Miniature Game per Quarter This may not sound like much… but I think I only played two games all of last year.

– Finish my Zombie Game My homebrewed Zombie Apocalypse rules were written in 2009. In 2014 they will see the light of day. Some catastrophes with the scenery, table and models during our move left me very discouraged in the last half of 2013. I made headway on this while I was off and will hopefully be to a place where it is done in the first quarter of the year.

So there are my resolutions for 2014. If I don’t post a model a week please give me hell!

~ by Achilles on January 8, 2014.

4 Responses to “Hobby Resolutions – 2014 – The year of the prolific painter”

  1. Rising from the Ashes!

  2. I empathise with you!

    Did you also find that when you finished that first post-child mini that it felt like a massive achievement, like you’d reclaimed a geeky part of your life 🙂

    • Absolutely! I got a kick starter rulebook in the mail and read through it over Christmas. It was honestly the first time I has been excited about my hobby in a while!

Leave a Reply

 
Metal Miniatures

pics of little metal men

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fighting Fantasy Project

Can YOU survive?

davidneat

a maker, a teacher of making

Miniature armies, huge time sink.

But time you enjoy wasting, is not wasted time...

goochman70

Just another WordPress.com site

Tales From The Lead Pile

the strange wargaming world of Diakon

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Astronomi-con

Forging the narrative since 2001

Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

sho3box

Toy soldier stuff.

10-4 Miniatures

Miniatures, etc.

WildNinjaMole

My random thoughts on everything

Obi's gaming and painting

Tabletop and more

Perpetual Motion Canadian

I know not all that is coming, but be it what it will, I'll go to it laughing.

Generic Gaming Goodness

One of the many, many blogs of the Ivory Goat Gaming Group

