Games I Like – Necromunda – Project Hired Guns: Part One

Some of the most unique sculpts in the 90s Necromunda Range were the Hired Guns. The Original Necromunda rulebook included rules for three kinds of these ne’er-do-wells; Bounty Hunters, Underhive Scum and Ratskin Scouts.

In my plunge into collecting all of these figures I first managed to acquire the three Bounty Hunters. The four Scum models are on their way to me, but the Perry Ratskins are still eluding me as they go for huge sums on Ebay at this time.

My first Hired Gun was painted to match the Orlocks I am working on; I’ve nicknamed him ‘King’… I’ll let you guess why.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Of the three Bounty Hunter figs, this is my favorite (hence why he was the first to get painted!). While still a ‘flat’ figure, he oozes cool with the sideburns and pompadour as he blazes away with his Bolt Pistol at an unseen Outlaw he is going to collect on to the Guilders.

Paint-wise he is slightly more tanned than the paler Orlocks who I painted with a sort of ‘Scotsman’ complexion that I thought suited their blue-collar industrial background. ‘King’ has been around, hence the rebreather and blue striped jumpsuit that may harken back to a different life (perhaps in the Imperial Navy?). The tabard is marked with Guilder tags for confirmed capture and returns and his back pack is heavy with the gear of the trade. He is painted in bright whites and reds to have him stand out from the more subdued Orlocks and was really enjoyable to paint again after all these years.

More to come!

~ by Achilles on September 11, 2011.

3 Responses to “Games I Like – Necromunda – Project Hired Guns: Part One”

  1. i may be able to help you with the ratskins………….

    • That would be awesome! Send me a list of what you’d like to part with to my email and maybe we can work something out! 🙂

  2. hi sorry for the delay in replying contact me at grail79uk@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

 
Metal Miniatures

pics of little metal men

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fighting Fantasy Project

Can YOU survive?

davidneat

a maker, a teacher of making

Miniature armies, huge time sink.

But time you enjoy wasting, is not wasted time...

goochman70

Just another WordPress.com site

Tales From The Lead Pile

the strange wargaming world of Diakon

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Astronomi-con

Forging the narrative since 2001

Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

sho3box

Toy soldier stuff.

10-4 Miniatures

Miniatures, etc.

WildNinjaMole

My random thoughts on everything

Obi's gaming and painting

Tabletop and more

Perpetual Motion Canadian

I know not all that is coming, but be it what it will, I'll go to it laughing.

Generic Gaming Goodness

One of the many, many blogs of the Ivory Goat Gaming Group

