General Hobby – JR Miniatures Scenery and DUST Tactics Crates

In my ongoing odyssey of painting scenery appropriate to playing MERCs on (I do get a bit obsessed don’t I?) I most recently painted some JR Miniatures expanded foam scenery.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Now let me be honest about this stuff. It’s okay. I’ve already used their pre-painted Middle Eastern scenery (with a few modifications) for my Haqqislam themed Infinity table. The expanding foamed resin JR uses is grainy and prone to bubbles. It is also extremely temperature sensitive and the roofs on all my Haqqislam buildings are now hideously warped after sitting in the back of my car on a warm day.

But you cannot argue with the price. Twenty bucks for a building ain’t bad.

The MERCs rulebook’s in-game shots all used the JR Ruined Science building scenery for their games, so I figured picked that stuff up and painting would work for me as well! This gives me a second table worth of scenery for playing MERCs on.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I based coated the whole building in Painters Touch chocolate brown spray. It was then highlighted with a medium Painters Touch blue grey spray and finally a red-brown on all the rusty damaged and cratered spots.

A few touch ups with some dry brushing to finish the details and I was all done.

The crates and tiles I am playing on are from the excellent DUST Tactics game from FFG. They come in simple grey plastic and I based them in Painters touch Cherry Red and Apple Green sprays. I hit them with a light dry brush of Citadel Dheneb Stone to weather them a bit and they were done.

Quite happy with both pieces. I’m hoping to use the rest of the DUST box contents for a future project doing my Canadian Armoured division for Secrets of the Third Reich. Along with the excellent new Bolt Action plastic Canadians (that’s right… the box comes with Thompsons!) and the really cool Junk Robots as Steel Troopers, I have a lot to work with!

~ by Achilles on March 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Metal Miniatures

pics of little metal men

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fighting Fantasy Project

Can YOU survive?

davidneat

a maker, a teacher of making

Miniature armies, huge time sink.

But time you enjoy wasting, is not wasted time...

goochman70

Just another WordPress.com site

Tales From The Lead Pile

the strange wargaming world of Diakon

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Astronomi-con

Forging the narrative since 2001

Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

sho3box

Toy soldier stuff.

10-4 Miniatures

Miniatures, etc.

WildNinjaMole

My random thoughts on everything

Obi's gaming and painting

Tabletop and more

Perpetual Motion Canadian

I know not all that is coming, but be it what it will, I'll go to it laughing.

Generic Gaming Goodness

One of the many, many blogs of the Ivory Goat Gaming Group

