Games I Like – General Hobby – Making a folding Kitchen Table board.

One thing I love about playing lots of Skirmish games is that you can do so in a small amount of space. As I prefer to play games at home (no unpleasant distractions like noise, smells, or education system failures) this has become an element of my hobby I really enjoy. A long while back I made a folding 30 inch table for Helldorado that saw lots of gaming and when the newest Citadel Gaming Mat came out I had an idea for something similar.

The table is based on this robust thing. For price, durability and flexibility you really can’t go wrong with it. The grass holds incredibly well and unlike a felt mat the wrinkles in it will disappear after just a few minutes of sitting flat instead of needing to be ironed, etc. I love my Zuzzy rubber gaming mats but for everyday use you just can’t beat the Citadel mat for durability, or the price!

This gaming table will be three by four feet. This is the standard gaming size of Anima Tactics and Heavy Gear and is perfectly serviceable for Warmachine, Malifaux and when reversed to the black ‘tarmac’ side Infinity.

To make it I used the following;

– 1 Citadel Gaming Mat, cut in half (it comes six by four feet)
– One roll of black Gorilla Tape (this stuff is awesome)
– a pair of scissors
– two pieces of 2×4 foot 1/4 inch Masonite, trimmed at Home Depot to 2×3 feet.

Laying both pieces of the Masonite down, I begin by making a ‘hinge’ from six inch strips.

With that side done I then close the two panels and repeat the process across the back, to reinforce this going all the way around I wrap the hinge bits completely.

That done, I attach the mat with a strip of Gorilla tape across the far edge. Make sure there is a ‘break’ with tape between the mat and table surface so it can be laid out either way as an urban or grass surface.

Wrap all the edges in tape to make it a bit more durable and you’re done!

All in all I only spent about forty bucks to make this table, and I’ve still got a whole other half of the gaming mat left if it want to make another table or an extension.

The table folds up and sits in a closet along with my little rubbermaid container of generic scenery for 28mm games.

And here it is set up with my Anima Wissenschaft Team on it.

~ by Achilles on October 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
Metal Miniatures

pics of little metal men

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fighting Fantasy Project

Can YOU survive?

davidneat

a maker, a teacher of making

Miniature armies, huge time sink.

But time you enjoy wasting, is not wasted time...

goochman70

Just another WordPress.com site

Tales From The Lead Pile

the strange wargaming world of Diakon

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Astronomi-con

Forging the narrative since 2001

Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

sho3box

Toy soldier wargaming stuff.

10-4 Miniatures

Miniatures, etc.

WildNinjaMole

My random thoughts on everything

Obi's gaming and painting

Tabletop and more

Perpetual Motion Canadian

I know not all that is coming, but be it what it will, I'll go to it laughing.

Generic Gaming Goodness

One of the many, many blogs of the Ivory Goat Gaming Group

