Games I Like – Infinity – So I’ve rediscovered Bartertown…

Well it’s been a few years, but I just recently discovered the Mos Eisley of Miniature Trading… Bartertown. Taking a stroll through the forums I discovered several lots of miniatures for one of my favorite games: Infinity.

Now having just completed ALL my Pan Oceania models in TGN Battle Challenge #1 and having started building the smattering of Ariadna models I’d bought years earlier I was sorely, sorely tempted by some of the deals I found there.

My will being as powerful as that of a meth-addicted meercat I quickly succumbed and snatched up a bunch of lots of Yu Jing, Nomad and Haqqislam minis.

Now the Yu Jing have grabbed my attention first. Today I was lucky enough to receive delivery of two of my lots, both of which turned out to be models for the Asiatic super-power.

Photobucket

Photobucket
From top left to bottom right; Zhanshi Doctor, Shaolin Monk with Chain Rifle, Invincible with Multi Rifle, Shaolin Monk with Combi Rifle, Zhanshi Hacker, Tiger Soldier with Boarding Shotgun, Shang Ji with Combi RIfle, Hac Toa with Combi Rifle, Wu Ming with Boarding Shotgun.

This was the first lot to arrive today. These miniatures were previously played with and required a little fixing and re-basing. All in all they were in pretty good shape and were quick to fix up and re-prime.

Photobucket
New-in-the-box and super cheap! Score!

My second lot that arrived today was all new in their boxes and blisters. I got a copy of the NEW Yu Jing stater so I’ve got a second Shang Ji Heavy Infantry along with sexy new Zhanshi’s so I’ve got some cheap order-generators. The Celestial Guard and Domaru are also super-cool.

Along with that are Sun Tze, another Domaru, Miyamoto, a Hsien HMG, Guilang, Tiger Soldiers with Combi Rifle and HMG and some other odds and ends.

Still on its way to me are an Invincible HMG, Ninja Sniper and an Oniwaban (cool!).

So the rest of the afternoon has been gleefully spent rummaging in bits boxes for these…

Photobucket
My Bitz Box contains lots of random detailed bases…. lucky for my Yu Jing army!

I was short a few bases so I also made a few custom ones to round off the army.

As I went along I also started building a Figure Foam carrying case for the army.

Photobucket

I did this first with my Pan Oceania army. It occurs to me as I write this that I should probably write a blog post about this… so I think I’ll do that next!

I’m pretty excited to paint this Yu Jing army. I’m going to stick to the greys and oranges of the studio colour scheme with some jade thrown in there for variation. I’m going to stick to the Imperial Chinese side of the army for the most part; minimal Ninjas and Japanese troops.

This ‘unofficial’ Battle Challenge on my part will probably consume a bit of my hobbying for the next few months, along with the Weird War stuff I’m working on and probably Space Hulk as well.

~ by Achilles on August 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
Metal Miniatures

pics of little metal men

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fighting Fantasy Project

Can YOU survive?

davidneat

a maker, a teacher of making

Miniature armies, huge time sink.

But time you enjoy wasting, is not wasted time...

goochman70

Just another WordPress.com site

Tales From The Lead Pile

the strange wargaming world of Diakon

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Astronomi-con

Forging the narrative since 2001

Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

sho3box

Toy soldier stuff.

10-4 Miniatures

Miniatures, etc.

WildNinjaMole

My random thoughts on everything

Obi's gaming and painting

Tabletop and more

Perpetual Motion Canadian

I know not all that is coming, but be it what it will, I'll go to it laughing.

Generic Gaming Goodness

One of the many, many blogs of the Ivory Goat Gaming Group

