Model Review – Plastic Privateer Press Menoth Bastions

Well, I’ll be honest… I haven’t been keeping up with Warmachine.

Since 2007 my gaming buddies and myself have somewhat fallen out of love with the Steam Powered miniature games. It wasn’t the game… and it certainly wasn’t the models (which are much nicer today than in 2003 when I got the original release starters). It was the WEIGHT of the game.

I’d felt the same in 1994 when I briefly played Magic: The Gathering. There was just too much to memorize! It seemed as though the guy who memorized not just what his, but every other piece in the game can do, always came out ahead.

That’s WAY to much work for me. It just became too laborious to keep up. This is of course just my personal gaming preference, as I’m sure this is probably the most favorite aspect of the game for some hobbyists.

But if there’s one thing that can always get me back looking at a game… it’s models.

I was super-stoked when I heard that the first plastic Privateer Press models were going to be Menoth. I’d painted nearly 4000pts of these fire-brand wielding psychos over the years and was excited to be on the receiving end of the first wave of PP Plastics.

Photobucket

The shiny new box!

Photobucket

On first opening it I thought ‘weird… packed in plastic bubbles???’.

Photobucket

Each bastion (2 variant poses and a leader) is packed in his own little pocket of plastic.

Photobucket

All five of them are broken up in the following pieces; Shoulders, Arms, Head, Body, Weapon. The leader also has a pair of small ‘underpads’. The plastic itself has a hard, grainy feel. In fact, it almost felt like injection resin… Anyone who has put together the old Warzone plastic Bauhaus or Imperial models will know what I’m talking about. I decided almost immediately I’d be using super-glue for these figures as I wasn’t sure polystyrene cement would actually bond the pieces.

Photobucket

There were a few mold lines and the shoulders had ‘pipes’ where the plastic was pushed into the mold. I imagine the second one is a vent.

The one issue I’d found at this point was that all five halberds were a bit warped. I wasn’t sure if it was going to pose a problem but they certainly weren’t straight. That’s what you get when models are allowed to cool when they’re off a cast frame… they change shape!

Photobucket

After cleaning the body I popped the head into it’s socket. It was a snug fit with no real issues and super-glue did the trick almost immediately.

Photobucket

All the bits have oddly shaped pegs so you can match where they go.

Photobucket

It made it easy to identify the bits!

Photobucket

With the arms glued on I encountered my first ‘Uh oh….’ moment. As I mentioned earlier I wasn’t sure about the warping of the halberds, and now I realized it wasn’t restricted to them. The arms had clearly hardened slightly more open than they should be as the picture illustrates. Some boiling water and a little elbow grease sorted it out.

Photobucket

http://guerillaminiaturegames.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post-new.phpPhotobucket

The finished Bastion! I’m pretty happy with him overall. He’s big, chunky and has a halberd. He also has a tiny, tiny head. I find the whacky proportions of the Warmachine figs kind of endearing.

Photobucket

I did have a second ‘Uh oh…’ during assembly.. another not-quite-going-to-make-it arm and halberd combo. A little editing and I sorted it out however… but it’s something that would give a novice hobbyist fits.

Photobucket

The completed unit!

Overall I give the Bastions 3.5/5 for a plastic kit.

Pros
-Relatively clean and with little required filing.
-Nicely detailed!
-Pretty good price point for 40mm based models at $44.99 CND.

Cons
-Fit issues because of warping.
-I’d really hoped there would be more bits! I was stoked dreaming of Menofix accessories etc.
-Some of the pegs needed to be cleaned and filed down so they would fit.

The thing I was reminded of most by this kit was Rackham’s one and only ‘line production’ plastic kit from Confrontation 3.5… the Abberation Prime. It has of course since gone out of production with the rest of the unpainted Confrontation models.

Abberation Prime

The one difference was that the Abberation Prime came with a bunch of varient bits to customize your model. This one didn’t. Now granted… we’re talking about a $50+CND single monster figure compared to a five man unit… but it was clearly also outsourced to a third party of some kind (I don’t pretend to have any insight into Privateer’s infrastructure, but I somewhat doubt they’ve got the liquid capital to invest in an actual casting machine) as was the Rackham figure.

Anyway, take my review or leave it as you like! I’m excited to paint my Bastions… and I’m definitely not disappointed. I guess I was just looking for a bit more from the flagship plastic release from Privateer Press.

~ by Achilles on August 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
Metal Miniatures

pics of little metal men

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fighting Fantasy Project

Can YOU survive?

davidneat

a maker, a teacher of making

Miniature armies, huge time sink.

But time you enjoy wasting, is not wasted time...

goochman70

Just another WordPress.com site

Tales From The Lead Pile

the strange wargaming world of Diakon

oahuhiking

Oahu hikes

Astronomi-con

Forging the narrative since 2001

Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Don't worry. None of this blood is mine.

sho3box

Toy soldier stuff.

10-4 Miniatures

Miniatures, etc.

WildNinjaMole

My random thoughts on everything

Obi's gaming and painting

Tabletop and more

Perpetual Motion Canadian

I know not all that is coming, but be it what it will, I'll go to it laughing.

Generic Gaming Goodness

One of the many, many blogs of the Ivory Goat Gaming Group

